#MustReadin2014

must-read-in-2014-challenge

I am happy to be joining Maria Selke from Maria’s Melange and Carrie Gelson from There’s A Book For That  for the #MustReadin2014 challenge!  Seeing as that I will be reading one book a month already for my book club,  I have decided to be realistic in the number of books that I will be setting out to read – topping my list at 20.  I have tried to include a variety of adult, children, YA and professional books.

So here it is – My TBR list for 2014:

Grown up Books

The Goldfinch

1. The Goldfinch – Donna Tartt.   Because my boys bought me this for Christmas.

The Orenda

2. The Orenda – Joseph Boyden.  Because my sister recommended it and I loved Three Day Road.

15792512

3. The Harem Midwife – Roberta Rich.  Because Roberta Rich came to my book club after we read her first book, The Midwife of Venice.  I was a little star struck.  I sat next to her and kept touching her arm.  She was delightful and asked us a lot of questions about her then beginning stages of her next book.

Younger Peoples’ Books:

Fangirl

4. Fangirl – Rainbow Rowell.  Because of all the discussions and reviews about this book on many blogs. Also, I loved Eleanor and Park.

15814452

5. The Center of Everything – Linda Urban.  Because Carrie Gelson loved this book!

 17910570

6. Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy – Karen Foxlee.  Because there have been lots of blog posts about this book recently and I love the cover.

8559036

7. The Thing About Luck – Cynthia Kaddhata.  Because I’m interested in the Japanese connection.

16240743

8. The Truth of Me – Patricia MacLachlan   Because I love her.

One for the Murphys

9.  One for the Murphys – Lynda Mullaly Hunt.   Because I read an inspiring Nerdy Book Club Post by Gigi Mcallister about this book and have never read it!

9548964

10. Fracture – Megan Miranda   Because I got an ARC of this book a year ago but still haven’t read it!

11354687

11. Small Medium at Large – Joanne Levy   Because I love Long Island Medium!

15798672

12. The Zebra Forest – Adina Rishe Gewirtz.  Because I need to balance my fantasy reads with some realistic fiction.  Intriguing title.

15780279

13. A Tangle of Knots – Lisa Graff.  Because I live with 3 boys and need a girly book once in a while!

18222557

14. Half a Chance – Cynthia Lord.  Because I loved Rules.

3236307

15. Graceling – Kristi Cashore.  Because it sounds amazing!

17667561

16. The Shadow Throne – Jennifer Nielsen.  Because I HAVE to find out what happens to Sage!

17. Allegient – Veronica Roth.  Because I HAVE to find out what happens to Tris and Four!

Professional Books:

18079659

18. Stiches – Anne Lamott   Because Bird by Bird is the most inspiring book about writing I have ever read and I laughed and cried through Operating Instructions after each of my boys were born.

17196305

19. Reading in the Wild – Donalyn Miller  Because I read another amazing  Nerdy Book Club review of this book and it’s been on my TBR list ever since!

17939297

Finding the Heart of Nonfiction – Georgia Heard.  Because I adore anything and everything she writes.

So there’s my list!  What’s on your TBR list this year?  Check out other #Mustreadin2014 lists here

10 Comments

Filed under New Books

10 responses to “#MustReadin2014

  1. So glad to learn about Half a Chance, just went on my order list… 🙂 Can’t wait to read another book by her! The other must read books look fantastic… some of my favorites here and there!

    • I also love Cynthia Lord and am looking forward to reading this book and all the others! It’s a great challenge and will certainly help me get through my pile! Thank goodness for hockey practices! (I read a lot of books at the rink!)

  2. Another great list! I am reading Goldfinch right now. It’s sooooo long! But very good. I am beginning to despair ever finishing it. (Hasn’t helped that I’ve read about 15 other books since starting it!) I appreciate how balanced your list is. I want to read more adult fiction and nonfiction this year but don’t think any of those titles made it onto my #MustReadin2014.

  3. Pingback: #MustReadin2014 | There's a Book for That

  4. Yes, Goldfinch is a little daunting but I’ve heard so many great things about it. I may need to save it for summer! I will be checking out your list soon! I always feel a pull towards the professional nonfiction books as they are the inspiration I need to fuel my teaching fire! Happy reading through 2014!

  5. Wonderful list Adrienne! So excited you are joining in with the #MustReadin2014 community! Love your list – especially because some of our titles are the same so we can compare notes! And gush! Loved Graceling and went on to read the whole series. The Thing About Luck is wonderful for character connections/dynamics. Hurray for an exciting reading year ahead!

  6. Thanks, Carrie! I’m excited to be joining too and feel that it will help keep my reading on track! I know that we have several of the same books on our lists – of course you are way ahead of me in the YA and Jr. category and have already read many of these already! Can’t wait to share and compare our books! Thanks so much for doing this!

  7. I also have to find out what happens to Sage! Great choices here – you’ll love Fangirl. I just finished and fell even more in love with it than Eleanor, but it took a few chapters to get into it.

  8. Wonderful list, Adrienne!

Leave a Reply

