Celebration Saturday – Snow, Gold Medal and RFTLOI Celebrations!

15c4c-celebrate-image

I’m happy to be joining Ruth Ayres @ ruth ayres writes and others to celebrate and appreciate the goodness of the past week.

Here are the things I’m celebrating this week:

1)  SNOWFALL –  We had a significant snowfall here in Vancouver – unusual for the Westcoast, particularly at this time of year.  The best part was that the snow did not turn to rain and wash away.  We enjoyed some sunny days with a lovely white blanket!  More snow  is expected next week so likely I will be doing another snow dance in my kitchen!  Even my 15 yr old got outside to enjoy some sledding and snowball fun with his friends!

WP_002246       WP_002248

2) REPORT CARDS – Report cards are finished!  This is always a huge relief when all the comments and marks complete and handed in!  Hooray!

3) BOOK LAUNCH – This Tuesday, March 5th, Vancouver Kidsbooks will be hosting a book launch for my new book – Nonfiction Writing Power!  It should be a wonderful evening with family, friends and colleagues.  Will post more about this next week!

4) GOLD MEDAL GAME:  The men’s Olympic gold medal hockey game aired at 4 am our time – so we set our alarm and got up to watch.  Although it doesn’t look like my 3 boys are excited (photo below) – we were thrilled to win the gold medal!  It did feel a little anti-climactic after the Women’s gold medal game and the Men’s semi finals… and of course nothing can beat Sydney Crosby’s overtime goal to win gold in Vancouver in 2010!  We are proud of our Canadian hockey teams and all the athletes who kept us on the edge of our seats for 2 exciting weeks!

WP_002233      WP_002240

4) READING FOR THE LOVE OF IT CONFERENCE – Last Thursday and Friday I attended the 38th Reading For the Love of It Conference in Toronto – the largest reading conference in Canada.  Close to 4000 teachers attend from across the country and the line up of speakers, authors and presenters each year is incredible.  I was honoured to be invited to present two sessions – one on Reading Power and the other on Writing Power.  The sessions went so well and I was overwhelmed by the positive response from everyone!  It was truly an experience I will never forget – and certainly one of my most “celebrated” moments of the year so far!

Below are my highlights and some photos from the conference:

  • Dinner with my publisher Mary Macchuisi from Pembroke, along with other Pembroke authors including;  Kathy Lundy, Larry Shwartz and David Booth.  Mary brought along a copy of my new book, Nonfiction Writing Power, which I got to see for the first time.  Always a thrill to see all your work complete!

WP_002192                      WP_002198

Mary and me with my new book Nonfiction Writing Power         Me with Pembroke author David Booth (my hero!)

  • A full house at my first session!  I wasn’t sure that very many people would come to my session, since this was my first visit to Toronto and most of my work is in on the west coast. It was exciting to see a great turnout at both of my sessions.   (Before I started, I took a photo of the keen crowd! )

WP_002199

  • During my session on Writing Power – I was speaking about the difference between editing and revision and when I spoke about the fact that editors can do the editing but only the writer can do the revision because it is their “vision” – someone from the audience made a sound I couldn’t quite make out.  It turns out she had just experienced a huge “ah-ha moment” with her “outside voice”!  It was beautiful!

WP_002200

  • Listening to illustrator Steven Kellog talk about his experience collaborating with Patricia McLachlan on Snowflakes Fall – the book written in honour of the children and teachers of Sandy Hook Elementary school.  Steven Kellog lived in a farm in Sandy Hook and his children went to that school.  It was a moving presentation – not a dry eye in the house.

WP_002203   Snowflakes Fall

Steven Kellog signing my book.

                                WP_002205    I Want My Hat Back

Meeting Jon Klassen – a most unassuming and humble and very young man!  And of course he wore a hat!  His presentation was on “words and the spaces between”.  LOVED it!    Here he is signing my book.

WP_002206

  • Meeting my editor for the first time!  Kat Mototsune has been my editor for all four of my books.  She is AMAZING at what she does.  Because we live on opposite sides of the country, we have only corresponded through email.  At the Pembroke reception on Thursday night – I got to meet her for the first time!  What a thrill it was to sit and talk with her about her side of the publishing process.  And I now have a face to the name!  (for my next book!)

WP_002208   kathy lundy

  • Pembroke author Kathy Gould-Lundy (author of Creating Caring Classrooms and Teaching Fairly in and Unfair World as well as many other books) received a special award at the banquet dinner for her contribution to the conference over many years.  Kathy teaches in the Faculty of Education and the Faculty of Fine Arts at York University.  She is smart, humble and kind and I adore her.  (in the photo is Kathy and her son on the right, me on the left and Stenhouse President Dan Tobin in the back)
  • My cousin lives in Toronto with his fiancé and their brand new baby.  I spent a few hours visiting them and meeting baby Oscar for the first time.  An added bonus to my amazing trip.  baby oscar

I had an amazing week, filled with many things to celebrate and be grateful for!  Thank you for reading my blog!

12 Comments

Filed under Celebration Saturday, Recent Workshops

12 responses to “Celebration Saturday – Snow, Gold Medal and RFTLOI Celebrations!

  1. What an amazing week! I really can’t wrap my head around all you did this week! I am guessing you need to rest up a bit this weekend. Congratulations on the sell out crowd at your session – I know I WOULD TRAVEL more than a few miles to hear your speak and meet you…but not so far as to Toronto!

    • Thanks, Anita! Yes, it was a very full week with lots of things to celebrate! I have a relatively relaxing weekend ahead-and we are expecting more snow which always slows the pace down a bit. Could it be a snow day on Monday? Thanks for stopping by my blog and have a wonderful weekend!

  2. This truly is an amazing celebration. Congratulations on your new book launch and full-house sessions at the conference. I am glad you included snow, hockey and a baby in the celebration.

    • Thanks, Terje! Yes, a week of celebrations would not be complete without hockey! Thank you for your comments! The conference was such an amazing experience! I am still on a “high” from it. I met so many wonderful people and wished I could have heard ALL the sessions!

  3. What a full week of personal and professional celebrations. And, how marvelous to meet two amazing writer/illustrators.

    • Yes, it was a full week of celebrations! I love meeting authors, getting autographs and then sharing them with my students. They get just as excited as I do … well – almost!

  4. Wow-Adrienne, it was a terrific week filled with good things. I’m hoping to get a copy of your new book. We’ve been reading more and more about non-fiction (a huge part of our student research) and your book sounds like a good addition to the staff library, for me to read and share too. I have Snowflakes fall, a beautiful idea and collaboration. How great that you got to see Steven Kellogg. Lots to celebrate for sure-we have a wonderful “Oscar” at my school-sweet baby pic!

    • Thank you Linda! Yes – a remarkable week and I’m still on a high from the conference! An amazing two days! I loved meeting Steven Kellogg and did not realize how closely he was tied to Sandy Hook. What a wonderful way for him to honor the community. Yes, “baby O” is adorable. I have my own “O” – but it stands for “Oliver” – and I can’t hold him in my arms anymore! (and 13 yr. old boys don’t even really liked to be hugged from their mothers – although mine has will tolerate the odd one when nobody is looking!) Have a great weekend!

  5. What a week! I am looking forward to more celebration this week with your book launch! And I really hope we have a chance to visit in person soon so I can hear more details about your conference in Toronto! Love the photos of your audience! And of your “boys” watching hockey so very early! Big congratulations for such an amazing week!

    • Thanks, Carrie! Can’t wait to hear about your conference too! Briefly looked at your post – looked like a great time! I’m not even really thinking about my launch – taught today, teaching tomorrow… my hubby is away… one of my boys home sick…. hopefully I’ll remember to show up tomorrow at my own launch! : ) see you there! I’ll be the one looking frazzled!

  6. Lynn

    Hello Adrienne. It was so neat to hear about your writing session from your point of view. I too was in the audience, but my ‘aha’ was in my inside voice….;D You filled in the big, bubble void for me- brilliantly. I was needing to succinctly connect reading NF to writing NF, and you provided the perfect connection. Thank you! I look forward to channelling your thinking in my classroom!!! Lynn

    • Lynn – thanks for stopping by my blog and for sharing your “ah-ha” moment with me! I’m happy that you found the important connection between reading and writing NF – “linking thinking” is how I look at it. We think when we read and as writers – we need to write to invite that thinking! When I realized this – it was a huge “ah-ha” for me too! Hope to see you at the conference next year!

Leave a Reply

