Celebration Saturday

15c4c-celebrate-image

I’m happy to be joining Ruth Ayres @ ruth ayres writes and others to celebrate and appreciate the goodness of the past week.

Here are the things I’m celebrating this week:

1) Spring Break is here!  Ahhhh…I am celebrating the thought of two full weeks of extra time with family, books and just hanging at home!  We are heading up to Kelowna to visit my mother in law and also hope to get in a few days skiing.  I have a “to do” list that is always long – so perhaps I shall make an attempt to shorten the list!  (or perhaps not!)

2) Book launch – Last week, I celebrated the launch of my 4th book – Nonfiction Writing Power.  Phyllis Simon, co-owner of Vancouver Kidsbooks, hosted the event for me at her amazing bookstore.  I was surrounded by so many dear friends, family and colleagues – not to mention books!  Thanks to everyone who came and those far away friends who sent me well wishes and beautiful flowers!   In my speech, I quoted Pablo Picasso  – “The meaning of life is to find your gift – the purpose of life is to give it away”.  I celebrate that I have found my gift and am now able to give it away through teaching, writing and presenting.

1978803_10153856597880371_125097981_n

1900158_10153856596330371_842983300_n

Signing books for friends. (Carrie Gelson waiting for her turn!)

1920120_10153856598465371_1696380099_n

Four Fab Vancouver Elementary Administrators!

1656436_10153856598975371_13093500_n

My sister, her beautiful daughters and my handsome boys!

10002984_10153856599150371_1979489374_n

Happy to be celebrating with my boys!

3) Nonfiction Writing Power in Action!  –  This term, I have been teaching some of my lessons from my new book to a grade 7 class at my school.  Because they are focusing on Ancient Mesopotamia in Social Studies, I decided to link this subject to our nonfiction writing focus. Each student selected an invention from ancient Mesopotamia that has impacted our lives today.  This list includes the sail, wheel, plow, calendar and mathematical counting system.  Over the course of several weeks, I introduced four different nonfiction text structures including description, instruction, persuasion and comparison.  I focused on text structure and the language features of these different forms.  They then wrote several pieces about their invention in these different forms and then created posters.  I was AMAZED at how much they learned about their ancient invention and several different forms of writing!

sail]]

plow

wheel

4) Workshop in Ashcroft –  One of the many rewarding things about my work is being able to visit places in this beautiful province of British Columbia that I may not otherwise see.  Earlier this week, I travelled to Ashcroft to present a workshop in Gold Trail School District.  I was lucky enough to stay in a BEAUTIFUL Bed and Breakfast called Willow’N perched high on a hill with a views of the Thompson and Bonaparte River Valleys.  After a delicious breakfast of fresh berries, yogurt, oatmeal and coffee, I drove down the hill to Ashcroft Elementary School and presented Nonfiction Writing Power to a group of teachers ranging from grade 1 to grade 11!   It was a wonderful day!

photo

View from my room when I woke up!

5)  Proud Mom  – My 15 year old has spent the last 12 days in Arizona for spring training with his baseball team.  He and a few other Jr. Players were was invited to join the Senior team for training and to participate in a tournament.   He comes home on Sunday (I can’t wait!)  I have missed him terribly but know he is having the time of his life!  I’m very proud of him and grateful he has found his passion.

spencer

My 13 year old is fortunate to be attending an amazing Fine Arts School – the only public high school in Vancouver that offers a unique focus on performing arts, visual arts and band.  His grade 8 class performed their first play last week – they had written it themselves.  A great story-line – with some singing, dancing and humor mixed in.  I was very proud to see how confident he was on stage.

olie show

6) Dog Scare – Our dearest dog, Bailey (Nova Scotia duck tolling retriever) is recovering from a very serious eye infection.  She had a small scratch that got infected and went from bad to worse in a very short period of time.  The vet thought that she might, in fact, lose her eye.  After 2 weeks of a very rigorous eye drop routine (every 3 hours ALL day and night!) I am celebrating that she is on the road to recovery and will not lose her eye.  The vet has now decreased the frequency of drops so my hubby and I are also celebrating being able to sleep a few extra hours!

bailey (2)

Bailey has to wear a “cone” to prevent her from scratching her eye.

It’s been a week full of celebrations and I am grateful for them all.   What are you celebrating this week?

15 Comments

Filed under Celebration Saturday, Lesson Ideas

15 responses to “Celebration Saturday

  1. While there is lots to celebrate here – BIG time CONGRAULATIONS on the new book!

  2. Congratulations on your new book, Adrienne, and the workshop given. I imagine all who’ve connected to your ideas are excited! It seems you had a very nice week indeed, & now 2 weeks of break-awesome. Our break doesn’t begin until you return & I am ready! Love seeing your pictures, and about both sons. I agree that your baseball-traveler must be having the time of his life, & the school of the arts sounds like one we have here, a terrific place to be. I know you read about our play happening. It’s such an important part of the lives of some students-good for them! Have a terrific break!

    • Yes, the arts is such an important aspect of learning and sadly one that has been sadly underfunded! Oliver was very fortunate to be accepted. Yes, I’m very ready for this break and am looking forward to relaxing, reading and spending time with my family! Enjoy your break, Linda!

  3. What a great week! Congrats on so many things! Although I think I would rather be with your son in Arizona right now 🙂 And I’m jealous of your 2 week spring break. I’m ready for our one week break in a little over a week from now!

    • Thank you, Michele! Yes, it’s pouring rain and cold here and it’s 30 degrees in Phoenix right now! I feel very fortunate to have 2 weeks for spring break. I plan to sleep, read, write, ski and enjoy time with my family!

  4. I am so glad to hear that your dog is getting better. That must have been very scary. Congratulations on your book release as well! I love the idea for the unit on inventions. I am sure those students learned so much about the inventions and about the writing structures. Enjoy your spring break!

    • Thanks, Andrea! Yes, a scary time for our dog – and she is such an important part of our family! Yes, I’m very excited about my new book and look forward to sharing it with teachers. I love being able to do the lessons with my students and then share their work at my workshops. Thanks for stopping by!

  5. So many things to celebrate here! Enjoy your trip to Kelowna. I am sure your mother in law will be so happy to have some time with all of you. Oh those boys of yours – absolute charmers for certain. I loved seeing them at your launch and talking hockey 🙂 They are both doing so well. Congratulations again on your book – I have been promoting it at my school! (But not lending out my own signed copy – I am busy with it!) I have said that this is the book I have been waiting for! I love all of your ideas and inspiration to help students learn more about these different writing structures. And snuggles to your dog. Poor girl.

    • I hope my book will be worth the wait for you! I look foward to hearing how the lessons are going in your classroom and seeing some of your students’ work! So happy to be on break now – although this rain is not lending itself to working in my garden this weekend! My children – the light of my life – as I know yours are. They are gifts I get to open every day. Counting the hours until Spencer comes home tomorrow! Have a wonderful break!

  6. You have so much to celebrate! Congratulations on your new book, Adrienne, and I am so looking forward to getting my hands on it very soon. I love the quote you shared: Pablo Picasso – “The meaning of life is to find your gift – the purpose of life is to give it away.” Thanks for all that you do to inspire teachers!

    • Thanks, Jill! I’m excited about my new book and happy to be able to share my work with other teachers. Glad you liked the quote – it is one of my favorites – and I have a VERY large quote collection! Have a wonderful weekend!

  7. This week is my spring break too and I am so ready! I have your book in my amazon cart, but still deciding on a few others so I haven’t purchased yet. What great celebrations this week. I love all of the pictures – your boys seem to resemble you! Enjoy your week – here’s to warm weather for both of us!

  8. Congratulations on your new book! I need to get it – I want my students to write creative nonfiction when we return from spring break. Sounds like your book would be perfect! Oh, your poor dog. 😦 She looks so miserable – I hope she feels better soon! I love the diversity of your sons’ interests – baseball and the creative arts – how fun for you!

  9. Hi Leigh Anne! Happy to hear that my book is in your Amazon cart! Oh the joy of filling ones Amazon cart with books! Hope you have a wonderful week. I hope you have a restful week with lots of sunshine. (The only good thing about rain is that it gives me an excuse to stay in and read!)

Leave a Reply

