Nonfiction Picture Book Wednesday – Holy Science, Batman!

944dd-earthkidswborder2014

I’m excited to be joining Alyson Beecher from Kid Lit Frenzy in this year’s Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge 2014  I’m hoping to discover many new nonfiction books that I can share with my students at school and with other teachers at workshops.  Link up here to join in!

This week, I thought I would feature some new Nonfiction Series that have just been released or soon to be.  Many of these I am excited about bringing into our library as they are not only appealing for students but great for teachers as they can be used to support many different content areas.

Batman Science Series  – Tammy Enz

This new series by Capstone Press explores the facts behind some of Batman’s high tech gadgets.  What could be better than combining the famous super hero with science facts?  I can just imagine how popular these books will be, particularly with boys.  I really liked the way the book compared Batman technology with real-life facts and photos.  My only slight concern is that for the younger Batman fans, the information, language and content is rather sophisticated.  Despite my slight reservation, I will be purchasing the series for our library!

 

            

 

batman

Seasons Series – Lizanne Flat

While these look like books about the seasons – they are, in fact, more focused on math concepts than science.  (I should have paid more attention to the titles!)  But once I understood what the books were trying to do, I LOVED the idea!   They are interactive and with very colorful pictures and introduce the concepts of patterning, sorting, estimating, probability.  A WONDERFUL link to Math!

                   

                 

Adapted to Survive Series –  Angela Royston  (Captsone Press)

Another new great series by Captstone Press focuses on different animals’ common skill – flying, climbing, digging – and how they have adapted to survive in its own particular environment.   The photographs are wonderful and I love that the reading level is low enough for children to read independently.  For teachers looking for engaging high interest-low vocabulary books, I would highly recommend these books!

        

Product Details     Product Details

 

Benjamin Blog and his Inquisitive Dog – Anita Ganeri  (Capstone Press)

WOW!  Another amazing brand new series by Capstone Press.  This one is a definite WINNER!  Not only is it filled with amazing photographs and interesting information – but it is written as a travel blog!  How great is that for all you bloggers out there?   Benjamin Blog and his inquisitive dog Barko Polo (ha!)  travel the globe blogging about the world’s most exciting habitats including  rivers, deserts, rainforests, coasts, coral reefs, and mountains.  There is also a series in the works for Benjamin and his dog to explore different countries.   I’m excited at the thought of using these books anchors for many different research and writing projects!

         

  

blog

 Infographics  – Chris Oxlade (Capstone)

For those of you, like me, who are unfamiliar with this term – “infographics” are creative graphic visual representation of information.  In this series, the author creates a variety of engaging infographics that teach readers all about  animals, environment, weather and population.   I love the simplicity of using creative visuals to share information and numerical facts about different topics and think that these would be wonderful books for children who may have difficulty accessing information from written texts.

           

Weather Infographics           

Well… there you have it!  And if you hadn’t noticed – most of these new series are published by Capstone Press – one of the best publishers of nonfiction books for kids!  Thanks for stopping by!

 

 

 

 

5 Comments

Filed under Math, New Books, NFPB Challenge 2014, Nonfiction, Science, Seasons, Social Studies

5 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Wednesday – Holy Science, Batman!

  1. Wow-they all look worthy of having, Adrienne. I will send your post on to our librarian. We have such need for all kinds of NF books because of the students’ individual unit topics. Although you said the emphasis was really math, I love look of the the seasons books. Thanks for sharing so many!

  2. Yes, these are really worth including in your school library collection! They are certainly ones I feel would really appeal to students and teachers. I, too, love the season series – once I figured out what the intention was! I love the idea of linking up math concepts with nature! These are the simple books that make me think “Now why didn’t I think to write these books?!” Thanks for stopping by

  3. Love the look of two of these series in particular. The blogging travel guides look fantastic. What wonderful mentor texts! I also like the look of the Adapted to Survive titles. I have one of the titles in the Seasons series – need to pull it out and share it. Thanks for such a wonderful list of titles!

  4. I knew you would like the blogging books! I was so excited when I discovered these and think they would make amazing anchor books for writing travel logs with students. The Seasons series is another great one – love the link to Math with my favorite subject (seasons!)

  5. Those Batman books look awesome!

Leave a Reply

