Celebration Saturday – Back to School Where We Belong!

15c4c-celebrate-image

I am happy to be joining Ruth Ayres @ ruth ayres writes and others to celebrate and appreciate the goodness of the past week.

Back to school we go!  Finally!  I am THRILLED that the teacher’s strike is over and that soon we will all be back where we belong!  This Monday we will FINALLY be able to greet out students and welcome them into our classrooms and into our hearts!

Today I am celebrating the end to the teacher’s strike.  As some of you are aware, the teachers in British Columbia have been on strike  and on the picket lines since the middle of June.  After a marathon weekend of mediated bargaining (which many feel should have happened during the summer but didn’t), the teacher’s union and the provincial government came up with a tentative agreement.  On Thursday, the teachers voted 86% in favor of the new contract, putting an end to the strike.  This Monday (in 49 hours to be exact!) – we will FINALLY be able to walk INTO the school, instead of standing and walking OUTSIDE!  Although there are still some issues left to be resolved, and many voted with a “reluctant yes” – the alternative was far worse.  It’s time to move forward and get back to teaching.   I am giddy with happiness.

photo

CHEERS! The Strike is OVER! Celebrating with my staff outside the steps of our school on the last day of picketing.

Since I was five years old, September has always meant “back to school” for me.  But for the first time since then, I didn’t start school in September – not by choice but by circumstance.   And since NOT starting school, I have been feeling a little lost; a little “discombobulated”, a little antsy.  I discovered, since being on strike, that I  am less productive when I am not busy.  (how does that work???)  I discovered, since being on strike, that I love my teenage boys but don’t love the teenage smell that is permeating up from the basement room where they have been hanging out with their friends during this endless summer!  But most of all, I discovered, since being on strike, that I am my best self when I am in front of a group of eager, open faces and without that, I was beginning to loose a little piece of who I am.  I am a teacher.  I am proud to be a teacher; I am grateful to be a teacher. And I cannot wait to begin learning, sharing, discovering, laughing, reading, writing, singing, creating alongside my students.

A.A. Milne says it best: “Piglet noticed that even though he had a Very Small Heart, it could hold a rather large amount of Gratitude.”    I am grateful, beyond words, that I, along with 40,000 other teachers in B.C., will be back in front of our students on Monday where we belong.

20 Comments

Filed under Celebration Saturday

20 responses to “Celebration Saturday – Back to School Where We Belong!

  1. Cheers to all of you! I cannot even imagine what all of you have been going through for what seems like an eternity. Happy first day of school to you!

  2. So absolutely thrilled that you are on your way back, Adrienne. So many of us say things like “oh no, summer went too quickly”, but hearing you write of the ‘endless summer’ gives me something to think about as a teacher. Enjoy every minute of your Monday start, and best wishes for a fabulous week!

  3. A teacher without students has a piece missing form a whole. I am glad that you get to go back to the classroom. I can imagine that after this strike the classrooms will be filled with joy both from students and teachers,

  4. I’m so glad your strike is over and that you can get back to doing what you love! It’s so interesting to think of strikes now as an adult. As a kid, they were great because summer was longer! Best of luck for a wonderful year back.

    • Thanks you! I know how much I loved summer too! But I have to be honest – even my teenagers were starting to feel “ready” for school and a routine. “Hanging out” was starting to wear thin! Fortunately, we had great weather – good for the kids and good for walking the picket line – not that you can really call anything about walking a picket line “good”!

  5. It was an 86% YES vote! Thank goodness. I celebrate with you in every aspect of this. Love the piglet quote. I have so much gratitude, I can’t sit still! Happy September. Finally. Really and truly. Enjoy your walk in that front door.

    • I have made the correction! I knew 86 and not sure why 75 ended up in my post! But regardless of the number – I can’t wait until Monday! What a relief! You, too, enjoy your walk through the door – I will be thinking of you my friend! Happy teaching days ahead to you! Your students are so very fortunate.

  6. I am so happy for you! I cannot imagine how difficult it was to stay strong throughout the process and to not start school on time. Enjoy going back to school next week!

  7. Adrienne, so happy for you. Giddy with happiness – woo hoo for you! I can’t wait for Monday morning to come when you’ll greet those lucky students, ready for this new beginning, doing all those fun things alongside an incredible teacher.

    • Thanks, Ramona! I am so very happy to be heading back to school and being able to teach once again! I certainly knew the feeling of “You don’t know what you’ve got ’til it’s gone” – I really did feel lost not starting school this year! Thanks for your kind words.

  8. I was thrilled to hear the good news!
    It will be hard for you (and many) to sleep on Sunday night! :0)

  9. Yes – a bit like Christmas Eve I think! Thanks for your well wishes. I can’t wait to be back! Also – I LOVE your blog! I am a quote collector myself! Discovering your blog was like Christmas morning to me! Thank you!

  10. Woohoo!! Congrats and welcome back to school! 🙂

  11. So very well said, Adrienne. Not sure how you’re feeling after the first few days but I am exhausted! A much more chaotic feel to start up this year but I am really looking forward to being up and teaching again. Such a great feeling!

    • Yes… exhausted is a good word! Over-whelmed as well. Not sure your feeling on staff but some are still bitter about the whole thing. I understand where they are coming from but feel the need to move on and approach the year on a positive note. I’m sure things will feel like normal in a week or two – just in time to write report cards!

Leave a Reply

