Celebration Saturday – Spring Celebrations

15c4c-celebrate-image

 I am happy to be joining Ruth Ayres @ ruth ayres writes and others to celebrate and appreciate the goodness of the past week(s).

It’s been a while since I posted my celebrations so I am excited to share some celebratory events….

1) Celebrating Spring – It’s springtime in Vancouver and the blossoms are blooming.  While we didn’t suffer the cold and snow like some parts of the country, the sign of spring is always a welcome one to me.  The shorter nights, longer days, color and fresh air gives me energy and lifts my spirits.

IMG_0221 IMG_0220

2) Celebrating an Email – I give a lot of workshops in many different school districts and work with a lot of teachers, sharing lessons and anchor books which I hope will inspire.   While I don’t know for certain that what I say is impacting anyone, it is always my hope that someone somewhere will feel inspired, try a lesson or share a great book with their class.   Last week I received a “thank you”  email from a grade 3 teacher from Chilliwack.  She said she uses Reading and Writing Power with her grade 3 class.  During one of her Transform lessons, she read one of my favorite recommended books Ordinary Mary’s Extraordinary Deed by Emily Jenkins.  After reading the book, she encouraged her students to perform “random acts of kindness” in their community.  One of her students went beyond the call to help his disabled twin brother.  You can read the newspaper article here.  I celebrate Christine Blessin, her wonderful class, Lane and his brother, kindness, and the power of books that can transform us.

226034

3) Celebrating books – This week I discovered a box of new spring releases from Kids Can Press on my front porch!  They send me a box twice a year with their new releases to read and recommend.  It feels like Christmas when I open the box and get to touch (and sniff!) all the new books!  I will be featuring them in a later post – but here they all are on my living room floor!  (Happy book dance!)

IMG_1482

FullSizeRender

4) Celebrating old friends – In the busy life of being a parent of two teens, teaching and giving workshops, I don’t often get a chance to “hang out” with friends.  During the beginning of my spring break, my dearest friend Cheryl and I went on a “girlie getaway” to Victoria, B.C.  We stayed two nights at the beautiful Oak Bay Beach hotel.  We walked, rented bicycles, went for runs, had tea and scones in bakeries, swam in the pool, had nice meals together, talked and talked and laughed a lot!  The highlight, of course, was spending hours and hours in my favorite books stores – Russell Books and Munro’s Books.  It is amazing what a couple of days away with a friend can do for your soul.

IMG_1473

IMG_1456 IMG_1453

IMG_1446

 

IMG_1437  IMG_1430

IMG_1476

IMG_1477

5) Celebrating New Friends – I meet many amazing educators in my job giving workshops in many different school districts.  Two of these amazing educators, Lisa Wilson and Donna Kozak,  have become very dear friends.  Time spent in the company of my “literacy soul sisters” is a gift to me.  Whenever they come to Vancouver or I go to Kelowna, we try to connect.  Earlier this month, we met at the Secret Garden Tea Room and had a lovely afternoon drinking tea, talking about literacy, life and laughing a lot.  I am grateful for any time I have the pleasure of their company.  They are brilliant, kind and I feel as if I have known them all my life.

IMG_1318

5) Celebrating Snowboarding – Just before Spring Break, my eldest son travelled to Revelstoke, B.C. with his high school ski and snowboard team to compete in the provincial High School Races.  He was racing against students from all over the province – and he won a bronze medal in his second snowboard race!  His whole team did very well and combined for a 2nd place in the event.  Thrilled and proud!

FullSizeRender

IMG_1485 spencer snowboard

6) Celebrating family – My cousin got married earlier this month.  It was a beautiful wedding filled with love and tremendous joy.  It was wonderful to be together with cousins, uncles and aunts, sisters, nieces and nephews and friends celebrating together.  Family joy. My mum would have been overjoyed to see Andrew get married.  I miss my parents very much.

wed 2

Beautiful bride

5-TheDiamondVancouverWedding

My cousin Andrew and new wife, Melissa.

01d03a8e5aa22b113e2e07e4103552761808fd40bf

My uncle, aunt, two cousins (groom is far left) and two sisters.

01d9bfa96ab688bb8912c202263d532ae66f74386d

Love my sisters!

01133dd0f244be42f76753df638b4608c33f8a1f31

Three Gear girls and their families.

01a2676af95808571135479fac6893ad674c7c51f0

Uncle Dan and his 3 nephews (my boys are on far left and right….the ones who look as if they are drinking!)

 

I am grateful for all the moments in my life I have to celebrate.  What are you celebrating this week?

4 Comments

Filed under Celebration Saturday, Family, New Books

4 responses to “Celebration Saturday – Spring Celebrations

  1. What a full celebration post! Looks like your time in Victoria was wonderful. I particularly like the photo of all of your family – sisters and cousins everywhere. What a precious photo. Look how handsome those boys of yours are! Typing this through teary eyes after reading the newspaper article. What an email that must have been!

    • Yes, I got teary too! Such an amazing example of how books can transform us. I loved your photos of the Seattle Library – besides downtown Vancouver library, it’s one of my favorites!

  2. Wonderful to hear all that you’ve been doing, Adrienne, family, friends and books, weddings, spring flowers and kindness. Very nice to see them all. Glad it’s been a happy month.

    • Thanks, Linda! Yes, there was a lot to celebrate this month. I find writing about celebrations so helpful. Sometimes we get bogged down with “the other stuff” – and it’s so important to reflect on all the goodness!

Leave a Reply

